The Editorial Board for the SESS report 2022

For each issue of the SESS report an Editorial Board is established consisting of two senior researchers, one early career researcher (recruited in cooperation with APECS) and two representatives of the SIOS Knowledge Centre. It has regular meetings in the period between the submission of the contributions and the finalisation of the SESS report.

The tasks of the editorial board include reviewing of the received contributions, organisation of the scientific review process, the integration of chapters through the executive summary and other editorial tasks.

Members of the Editorial Board 2022

Divya David T (NCPOR, India) is a scientist working in the National Centre for Polar and Ocean Research of the Ministry of Earth Sciences, India. She is a physical oceanographer and her scientific interests include understanding physical processes in the Arctic and their interplay with biogeochemistry. She is the principal investigator of the Indian long-term hydrography monitoring project implemented in Kongsfjorden. She has several years of research experience and has been actively involved in research in the Svalbard area since 2012.  Also, she has been co-author of two of the earlier SESS reports (2019 and 2021).

Jacek Jania (University of Silesia, Poland) is a Professor in the Institute of Earth Sciences of the University of Silesia in Katowice, Poland, and Head of the Centre for Polar Studies there. He is a physical geographer and geomorphologist with a broad scope of interest and a long experience in research in Svalbard since 1972. Glaciology is his main field of scientific activity, particularly concerning the dynamics of tidewater glaciers, including calving and interaction with climate. Jacek is one of the founders of the Working Group of Arctic Glaciology of the International Arctic Science Committee (now the IASC Network on Arctic Glaciology). He is a member of the ExCom of the Committee on Polar Research, Polish Academy of Sciences as the immediate past President and represents Poland to the European Polar Board. He is a member of the Science Optimisation Advisory Group (SOAG) at SIOS. 

Roseline C Thakur (University of Helsinki, Finland) is a post Doc at the Institute for Atmospheric And Earth System Research (INAR), University of Helsinki. Her area of research includes aerosols, inorganic and organic ions, chemical ionization-mass spectrometry, new particle formations, and snow and aerosol chemistry of the polar regions. She has been co-author in previous SESS reports (2019).

Marjolein Gevers (University of Lausanne, Switzerland) is a PhD student in Glaciology at the University of Lausanne. For her research, she combines field observations and numerical models to understand the interactions between different components of the glacier system. Her focus is on active glaciological, geomorphic and erosional processes on the Greenland Ice Sheet and Arctic glaciers. She is the Early Career Researcher member of the editorial board.

Christiane Hübner (SIOS Information Officer) represents the SIOS-KC in the editorial board.

Are you interested in joining the Editorial Board this year or for future SESS reports? Contact!