The Editorial Board for the SESS report 2020

For each issue of the SESS report an Editorial Board is established consisting of two senior researchers, one early career researcher (recruited in cooperation with APECS) and two representatives of the SIOS Knowledge Centre. It has regular meetings in the period between the submission of the contributions and the finalisation of the SESS report.

The tasks of the editorial baord include reviewing of the received contributions, organisation of the scientific review process, the integration of chapters through the executive summary and other editorial tasks.

Members of the Editorial Board 2020

Agata Zaborska is an Associate Professor working in the Institute of Oceanology of the Polish Academy of Sciences. She is a marine geochemist and her main scientific interests are contamination of the Arctic environment and the use of radioactive tracers to study sedimentary processes. Her research focus on history of the Arctic environment contamination by heavy metals and anthropogenic radionuclides. After her PhD she spent two years working in Akvaplan-niva and Norwegian Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority in Tromsø. She has several years experience as lecturer at University of Gdańsk and she is a member of the Science Optimisation Advisory Group (SOAG) at SIOS.

Jon Ove Methlie Hagen is a professor emeritus at the Department of Geosciences, University of Oslo.  He has worked as glaciologist at the Norwegian Polar Research Institute 1986-1993, from1996 until 2020 as Professor at the University of Oslo. He was also, during 2010 to 2016, adjunct professor at the University Centre in Svalbard (UNIS). He has worked mainly on mass balance and dynamics of Arctic glaciers and authored/co-authored about 100 peer-reviewed papers. He was chair of the International Arctic Science Committee (IASC) Working Group on Arctic Glaciology 1995-2003. He was Editor in “The Cryosphere” for 8 years, lead author and contributing author in IPCC, Third, Fourth and Fifth Assessment Report.

Marta Moreno Ibáñez is a PhD candidate in Earth and atmospheric sciences at the University of Quebec in Montreal (UQÀM), Canada. The aim of her research is to analyse the development mechanisms of polar lows, which are intense maritime mesoscale systems that develop near the poles. She conducts simulations of observed polar lows using the Canadian Regional Climate Model and verifies the simulation output against observational data. She is currently coordinating the Early Career Researchers group review of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) reports organized by APECS, MRI, PAGES ECN, PYRN and YESS.

Heikki Lihavainen (Director) and Christiane Hübner (Information Officer) represent the SIOS-KC in the editorial board.

Are you interested in joining the Editorial Board for the SESS report 2020 - or future SESS reports? Contact!